Pumpkin Time!

This post is part of Vegan MoFo, the Vegan Month of Food.  Enjoy, and visit other MoFo bloggers this month too!

It’s pumpkin time!  I’m not usually a big pumpkin fan, except when I find them in pie form, but pumpkins popped up everywhere I looked this week–it being October and all–so I’m thinking the universe wants me to expand my horizons.

First, Wife ordered an amazing-smelling Thai Pumpkin Curry from our local Thai joint this week.  It looked like vegetables swimming in a bright, fake, processed cheese sauce, but it smelled and tasted  like vegan coconut curry heaven. I think I might try to copy the recipe, or maybe just order some for myself soon.

Next, I ran across an old Weight Watchers Pumpkin Pie recipe that was quite non-vegan, but very low-cal.  I have found several vegan pumpkin pie recipes online, but this spicy and tofu-free one looks the best to me.

Yesterday, I walked toward the door of Trader Joe’s to find this lovely sight:

Finally, as if reading my mind, fellow MoFo-er Vegan Moxie posted today about a Pumpkin Daal recipe she tried, and pointed out my lack of originality (ok, not directly) in writing a pumpkin-heavy post.

What do you guys think?  Are you sick of pumpkins yet?  Coming soon: a pumpkin muffin (with cream cheese frosting!) that will cure that sickness just fine.

4 responses to “Pumpkin Time!

  1. Pumpkin cream-cheese muffin = yum!

  2. Yummy! I make vegan pumpkin pie with tofu and soy sour cream in a graham cracker crust. Made a killer Thai coconut squash soup tonight that could be adapted to pumpkin. http://veggieteach.wordpress.com

  3. Hehe. I’m so NOT sick of pumpkins, I just fear it may come soon for others as most of my MoFo feed seems to be pumpkin, pumpkin, pumpkin as of late. Yet it’s totally befitting the season! My post tonight is (take a guess…) pumpkin-centric again, so there ya go. And thanks for checking out the blog. I’m enjoying going through all of your posts as well!

  4. Veganmoxie–I am so not sick of pumpkins, either! I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, but when I do I want pumpkin bread, pumpkin pie, anything in the tastes-like-Thanksgiving vein. That pumpkin cream cheese muffin has to happen. 🙂

    Meggie, I’ll bring you one!

    Jude, that soup sounds right up my wife’s alley–I might just have to make it for her this week (meaning another pumpkin post is probably coming soon!).

Leave a Reply

