Feeding Non-Vegans (and a Yumm-y Recipe)

This post is part of Vegan MoFo, the Vegan Month of Food.  Enjoy, and visit other MoFo bloggers this month too!

On this first day of blogging for Vegan MoFo, I am preparing to buy a distinctly non-vegan snack for a gaggle of teenagers.  I’m buying it for them because they asked for it, they work hard, it’s easier for me not to have to persuade them to try my vegan snacks, and they aren’t my children (who will not have such an easy time getting non-vegan food from me).

Many vegans would think those are pretty lame reasons to allow my dollars to go toward food that causes heart disease and animal suffering, and I totally get where they are coming from, so I am going to attempt to focus this Vegan MoFo on creating dishes that non-vegans won’t need persuading to eat.  I don’t have time to cook today (and, hey, I already promised the kids this one time), but by next week’s meeting with the teenagers I hope to have some new vegan snacks to share.

Are you vegan?  If so, how do you feed the non-vegans in your life?  My wife isn’t vegan, but she happily eats whatever I cook for her.  This is almost always vegan (because I generally only want to cook one dinner), but I admit I allow Trader Joe’s pizzas to sneak into Wife’s diet when I’m feeling lazy.

For today, here’s a VERY easy dish to throw together for vegans and non-vegans alike–I (and my mother, whose brainchild this is) have served this to many and to universal delight (if we do say so ourselves).  It has more oil than I like, and a major component comes from a jar, but it’s a great way to pack in the veggies and please a crowd.

If you can’t find Yumm Sauce where you are (it’s available in OR, WA, and CA), try this with another vegan jarred sauce like vegan ranch or even a warm-water-diluted hummus.

Roasted Veggies & Yumm Sauce

6 cups broccoli florets

1 or 2 zucchini and/or yellow squash, cut into 3/4″ slices

1 red bell pepper, cut into 3/4″ (bite-size) chunks

1 yellow onion, in bite-size chunks

Other veggie possibilities – mushrooms, asparagus, cauliflower, maybe Brussels sprouts?  You can also limit the dish to just one or two veggies alone–broccoli is my favorite!

1/3 jar of Yumm Sauce (I used Roasted Garlic, but just bought a jar of Chipotle to try)

1. Pre-heat the oven to 400.

2. Chop all the veggies to bite-size and assemble in an oil-sprayed 9″x13″ casserole.

3. Roast until the broccoli is just tender, about 15 minutes.  Don’t overcook, because the squash tends to get mushy.

4. Dump the hot veggies in a big mixing bowl.  Add the Yumm Sauce by the spoonful, until the veggies are lightly coated but not totally soaked in it.

5.  Serve warm or at room temp.  I’ve eaten this right out of the mixing bowl. 🙂

I didn't have any broccoli when I made this batch--I missed it!

Leave a Reply

