Multi-faceted Laziness

Where the F have I been, you ask?  Well, that’s Side 1 of my multi-faceted laziness – I just haven’t motivated myself to cook or write much lately.  I’m getting back on that bus, though, so watch out!  (No, seriously, watch out for more posts so you don’t miss them or their extreme awesomeness.)

Side 2 of my laziness is what I’ve been eating lately, in the absence of motivation to cook.

Yes, it’s true.  There are days when I don’t feel like eating healthful, whole, vegan foods.  SHOCK.  As I know I am your perfect shining example of How to Eat and Be Healthy, I will allow you time to pick your jaw up off the floor.

Anyway, that means I need those days when I don’t have to cook, I don’t have to think too much about what the nutrient density of my foods might be, and I just feel like eating foods from packages (like a normal freaking person).

For those days, I often turn to the amazing Indian food packets from Trader Joe’s.  Did you know Indian food comes in packets?  GOD BLESS AMERICA.  Many (all?) of them are vegan, and they are lacking in six-syllable ingredients, which is sometimes the only requirement I can force myself to follow.  For you Eat-to-Livers (livers, heh), it’s definitely rocking some salt and oil, but it’s one of the best packaged lunches I’ve found for folks eating a high-nutrient diet.

My favorite is Punjab Choley.  It is garbanzos with a spicy tomato-based sauce, which makes it similar—or maybe identical—to Punjabi channa, and like spicier channa masala.  On those days I don’t even feel like throwing together my tahini dressing, I heat the Punjab Choley and toss the whole packet on top of a giant bowl of greens.  Delicious, easy, and still pretty “whole.”   Eat ’em up, y’all.

Look for this guy in the beans/soup/grains aisle:

3 responses to “Multi-faceted Laziness

  1. What DON’T you put on greens?! You could write a cookbook! 🙂

  2. Ha! Good idea: “Things on Greens” by Caitlin.

  3. Pingback: Easy, Breezy, Lazy Deliciousness « Caitlin Eats

Leave a Reply

