Hummus Yummus

Hummus!  I love you.  Spinach Hummus from that random local food company whose name I can’t remember!  I love you even more.  I may not have done you justice, but I tried.  Behold…

Lower-Fat Spinach Hummus

Olive oil (or water)

6 handfuls spinach

Garlic to taste, crushed or minced

2 cans (or 3 cups cooked) garbanzo beans – I think organic tastes better

1 or 2 Tbsp tahini

Lemon juice

Water to thin

Spices – salt, pepper, cumin, cayenne

  1. Heat a splash of olive oil in a large pan.  You can replace the oil with some water and “steam fry” the spinach, but I do like a bit of oil in my hummus.  You won’t add it later, so go ahead…
  2. Add the spinach to the pan, in stages if necessary, and cook for 1 minute while stirring.  Add garlic to taste and continue wilting the spinach, but don’t let it get too super duper soft.  Toss in some salt and set aside.  (Hint: you want the spinach here to taste like a sautéed spinach side dish, so add salt and garlic in the amounts you would add if you were just going to eat the spinach on its own.)
  3. Put garbanzos, tahini, a few tablespoons of water, 2 big squirts of lemon juice, and the spinach in the food processor and process until smooth.  If it’s dry, add a bit more water (or lemon juice if you like it).  I used only 1 tablespoon of tahini because I wanted to keep it low-fat, but tahini is good for you and super-tasty, so I think I’ll use 2 tablespoons next time.
  4. Add spices: definitely salt, then a bit of cumin.  Keep tasting as you go (the fun part!).  I also added a pinch or two of cayenne pepper, because I like a little heat.  Even a pinch or two did not make it spicy, just added depth.

Greeeeeeen

I ate this with red bell peppers, carrots, and flatbread for lunch, and snacked on it later with some zucchini slices (which I think are so much better for dipping than cucumber).

Colorful lunch!

Smiling snack! I should have added olives for the eyes.

3 responses to “Hummus Yummus

  1. You should start including nutritional content in these posts … IMO. 🙂

  2. I love your plate(s)/dishes! They are gorgeous. I love hummus too 🙂

    Courtney

  3. Pingback: Easy, Breezy, Lazy Deliciousness « Caitlin Eats

Leave a Reply

