Sisterly Smoothies

I am a bit of a creature of habit, at least when it comes to my food choices.  Though this blog has made me a bit more creative with dinner recipes, I still make the same smoothie for breakfast almost every morning.  It’s delicious; don’t mess with it.

Fortunately for me, my sister’s refrigerator stopped working last week.  That meant I needed to deliver a friend’s mini-fridge to carry them through the week until repairs could be made.  It was breakfast time, and Sister asked me to help her make one of my smoothies.  She had spinach and bananas, but no frozen berries, so we had to come up with a new recipe using the going-to-spoil-soon produce she had lying around the kitchen.  It worked!  Sister generously shared, and it was delish.  Here it is, along with another smoothie her experimenting inspired:

Sister Smoothie:

2 cups spinach (less than I usually use, but it was all she had left, and it helps to try new recipes with less green)

1.5 cups water

1 banana

1 large Clementine, peeled and separated into chunks

Blend the spinach with the water until smooth.  Add the banana and the Clementine, separately and in chunks.  Blend!

Sister-Inspired Smoothie:

4 cups spinach

2 – 2.5 cups water

3 big spoons full of my leftover fruit salad (apple, banana, strawberry, Minneola/tangelo)

a few frozen berries (what was left in the open bag)

Follow the instructions for Sister Smoothie, blending in stages.  This smoothie was more tart because there is much less banana in it (probably ¼ of a banana total), and super delicious.

A note about greens – There is some debate about whether one needs to “rotate greens.”  Some believe that eating a bunch of the same leafy greens every day will cause a build-up over time to a level that will make you sick, and that people should therefore rotate at least weekly, switching from spinach to kale to chard, etc.  I’m pretty lazy about rotating greens (shocker), and spinach is my favorite for smoothies.  I’ve never experienced any ill effects, but you might want to look into this yourself if you start making smoothies every day.

3 responses to “Sisterly Smoothies

  1. Pingback: Easy, Breezy, Lazy Deliciousness « Caitlin Eats

  2. Need some help! I was checking out at the grocery store the other day and the lady in front of me was buying some interesting fruits (star and dragon fruit) and that got me to asking a few questions (I know, shocking). Long and short, she is a nutritionist and told me about a green smoothie in which you use frozen banana, frozen romaine (breaks down the cell wall of the leaf hence blends smoother) milk of some sort (soy or almond) and cacoa (spell?). She said it was on a “raw” website and I can’t remember what it was. I am also positive that I am missing an ingredient because she swears I will not know I am drinking “lettuce”. 9/1 is our big Mangano house lifestyle turn around. I am also interested in your book that you told me about which I can remember the name. HELP!

  3. Hey V! It is true that you won’t know you’re drinking lettuce, and the secret is the banana. In my smoothies, you don’t need the almond milk or cacao, but I bet it would be delicious!

    First, the book is Eat to Live by Dr. Joel Fuhrman–it’s amazing!

    My standard smoothie (soooo good) is:
    4 cups spinach or romaine (start with maybe 2 cups for your first one)
    1-2 cups water
    1 large banana (use 1.5 or 2 if you want it extra creamy)
    1/2 or 1 cup frozen berries (I use TJ’s Fancy Berry Medley–it’s blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries, I think)

    You can start with these amounts and adjust as you get used to the greens. I don’t freeze my bananas because they’re harder to work with than frozen berries, but if you use nutritionist lady’s recipe, you might want to freeze yours (slice before freezing!). For me, the berries give it the “ice cream” coldness and the bananas totally conceal the flavor of the greens and make it creamy.

    Hope that helps! Feel free to email me if you need any more tips!

Leave a Reply

