Lazy Day Hash

As you may have gleaned from previous posts, I can be a bit of a lazy cook (and blogger, for that matter).  Normally, I love finding an interesting recipe, messing around with it to fit my tastes or know-how, and shopping for the ingredients.  Howevs, all the rain combined with my busy schedule has made me somehow less adventurous these days, and I haven’t been all that creative.

For those days when I just can’t muster the energy to shop or to be creative in the kitchen, I throw together all the good stuff in the house and make a hash of sorts–a mash-up of ingredients that sound like they’ll go together well, usually thrown on top of a bowl of greens. The neat thing is that these hashes usually end up tasting great, and they have the added benefit of making Wife happy–she hates when I don’t go through the food we have in the house.

An ingredient that is always present is beans, so often my hashes have a Mexican flavor going on (which, as you know, I dig).  Here’s an example of one I made this week, and a glimpse of another I threw together today.

Tuesday’s Hash

1/2 cup diced yellow onion

1 large zucchini, chopped into 1/2″ pieces

1 tsp minced garlic

Salt, pepper, cayenne

2/3 cup frozen corn kernels, warmed in the microwave

1 15-oz. can of black beans

Salsa and guacamole

Mixed greens

1. Start by sauteeing the onions, zucchini, and garlic on medium-high heat.  Cook until the onions start to soften just a bit, and the zucchini starts to char.  Add spices to taste.

2. Drain and rinse the beans, and add them to the pan.  I discovered the corn in my freezer at the last minute, thawed/cooked it in the microwave for 2 minutes or so, then added it to the pan to continue heating–extra color and bulk for my hash.  Toss everything together and add your favorite salsa–a few good spoons full.

3.  Once everything is hot, spoon some of the mixture onto a bed of greens.  Top with salsa and guac and enjoy!

After I ate this bowl of hash-n-greens, I ate another cup or so of the hash on its own, which was just as good.

Today’s version (even better) – zucchini, red bell pepper, broccoli, black beans, spices, salsa.  Yum!

2 responses to “Lazy Day Hash

  1. I do the same thing–I love throwing veggies and whatever is in the fridge together and having it over greens. Yours looks great!

    Courtney

  2. Pingback: Easy Quinoa Salad | Caitlin Eats

Leave a Reply

