Itty Bitty Taco Committee

Ok, y’all, we’re back to food.  Howevs, since I know you’re DYING to know, the 10k on Sunday went wonderfully!  I killed my goal pace, despite The Plague remainders in my lungs.  Sweet!

On my run today, I felt so happy for my non-existent running partner.  See, if my poor running partner were to actually exist, s/he would have been not sucking wind nor eating my dust, but inhaling giant whiffs of my lunch as I burped it up for 3.33 miles.  Fun and not gross at all, eh?

See, the problem is that taco salads are The Bomb.  What other food includes all your favorite Mexican ingredients, but can still be called a SALAD?  Ok, so it’s not usually any better for us than a platter of enchiladas, but doesn’t it FEEL better?

This week, I decided to give my fave “salad” a make-under.  What I came up with is low-fat, low-cal, vegan, and almost totally unprocessed.  Oh, and YUMSVILLE.  I ate it for dinner last night, and threw together left-overs for my not-long-enough-before-running lunch today.

Itty Bitty Tacos

(Feeds 4 when served with veggies on the side, or 2 very hungry adults.)

8 thin 6″ corn tortillas

1 can (or 1.5 – 2 cups cooked) black or pinto beans, drained and rinsed

1 large russet potato

1/2 yellow onion, diced

4-5 crimini (or other) mushrooms, diced

Other yummy veggies like zucchini, bell peppers, etc.

2-3 cloves minced garlic

Pepper, Chipotle pepper powder, Salt to taste

Salsa to taste (maybe 1/4 cup?)

Salad greens

The Deets:

Pre-heat oven to 400.  Spray 8 muffin tin holes with cooking spray.

One tortilla at a time, tear opposite sides of tortilla toward center–making two 2 inch tears:

(can you see that?)

Press center of tortilla into muffin tin, allowing torn sides to fold over each other to create a flat-bottomed cone.  They won’t be perfect, and they’ll curl in on themselves, but don’t stress.  Repeat for all tortillas.

Bake for 5 minutes, then continue baking and check for crispness every 2-3 minutes until the tortillas have turned into hard shells.  Keep checking on them!  Remove from oven and set aside to cool.

While tortillas are crisping, prep the filling.

Scrub the potato.  Dice into 1/2-inch chunks and cook–you can boil the chunks, roast them at 400 for 15 minutes, or microwave (on a plate and covered with fork-punctured plastic wrap) 2 minutes at a time until soft.

Saute onion, garlic, and mushrooms in medium saucepan until onions start to soften.  If adding other veggies, add them as needed to soften.  Add the potatoes and the beans, then toss with seasoning to taste.  Add 1/4 cup of salsa or more–enough to get everything a little wet.  Heat through on medium heat, stirring frequently.

Once the filling is hot and the tortillas are crisp, do the fun part!  Put some salad greens (I like mixed baby lettuces, or chopped romaine) in the bottom of the baby tortilla shells, then load them up with the bean/potato mixture.  You can also stuff the tortillas with the filling and place the whole thing on a bed of greens (just eat your greens!).  Of course, you can also copy me and just eat green veggies on the side, but I’m trying to go with the taco salad vibe here.

I made 4 of these all for myself (I was starving) and topped each one with salsa and guac.  Wife was into them too, but she wasn’t starving, so I had left-overs.  My favorite bit is that you can pick them up and eat them–no fork required!

Try it–I bet you won’t miss the meat and cheese!  I would suggest adding a margarita on the side, but drinksies would make me eat the whole recipe and not just one serving.  Seriously, YUMSVILLE.

One response to “Itty Bitty Taco Committee

  1. Sounds yummy, other than the mushrooms! I would add cilantro. 🙂

Leave a Reply

