Tortilla Soup

Have I mentioned that I LOVE Mexican food?  I would eat it four times a day if I could.  The bonus is that it’s super easy to make your favorite Mexican dishes vegan–just swap the meat out for beans, and hold the cheese and sour cream.

I’ve been trying lately to focus on my 3 S strategy–Smoothies, Salads, and Soups–so I made a hearty tortilla soup last week.  I then proceeded to eat it for every meal–even breakfast–with just one or two exceptions for the next three or four days.  YUM.

Here’s the recipe I started with:  Vegan Tortilla Soup

I added an extra cup of beans and a couple more cups of spinach.  I also like to pour a bowl of the soup over a bowl of greens to really up the veggie factor.

Here’s what mine looked like:

I went a little crazy with the tortilla strips. :)

2 responses to “Tortilla Soup

  1. Pingback: Date Night for Vegans « Caitlin Eats

  2. Pingback: A Simple, Lazy, Vegan Day « Caitlin Eats

Leave a Reply

